Yuki Tsunoda (AT04-02, Car 22)
Race: Pos. 10th

“I have mixed feelings about today. We scored our first point of the season which is good, but to be honest, given our pace I didn’t expect to score any today. Considering how much we were struggling before the red flag, with warming up and getting the hard compound tyres in the optimum window, we should take this result and be happy with P10 as we maximised our performance. It’s a shame we lost P5 because, going into Turn 1, I managed to overtake several cars. On the positive side we scored a point, so we will continue to work hard to score more in the coming races.”

Nyck de Vries (AT04-03, Car 21)
Race: DNF

“Sadly, the racing incident with Logan meant the end of the race for us. We were struggling very much out there today but we did well at the beginning on the hard compound. Unfortunately, when the red flag came out, everyone who started on the mediums got a free pitstop to switch to the hard. I also damaged the front wing during the race, so I ended up with understeer and graining on the tyres. The midfield is still very tight, so we will continue to work and push, to be able to move up the ladder.”

Jody Egginton (Technical Director)

“It was a very difficult race for us. Both drivers pushed hard to extract all they could from the package, but we couldn’t manage to get the cars moving forward as required. The pace of the car was not there on all compounds, and we struggled for straight-line speed, as such, we weren’t able to attack nor hold position in some phases of the race. We leave Melbourne with a lot of data to go through and a lot of work ahead of us in order to be best prepared for Baku.”

Session Result

1Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT2:32:38.371
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes+0.179s
3Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Aramco Mercedes+0.769s
4Lance StrollAston Martin Aramco Mercedes+3.082s
5Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT+3.320s
6Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes+3.701s
7Nico HulkenbergHaas Ferrari+4.939s
8Oscar PiastriMcLaren Mercedes+5.382s
9Guanyu ZhouAlfa Romeo Ferrari+5.713s
10Yuki TsunodaAlphaTauri Honda RBPT+6.052s
11Valtteri BottasAlfa Romeo Ferrari+6.513s
12Carlos SainzFerrari+6.594s
13Pierre GaslyAlpine RenaultDNF
14Esteban OconAlpine RenaultDNF
15Nyck De VriesAlphaTauri Honda RBPTDNF
16Logan SargeantWilliams MercedesDNF
17Kevin MagnussenHaas FerrariDNF
DNFGeorge RussellMercedes-
DNFAlexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes-
DNFCharles LeclercFerrari-